Jlewis Award

Wardell Armstrong Director Receives Sir Andrew Bryan Award

Jan Lewis recognised by IOM3

Wardell Armstrong Director Jan Lewis has been awarded the Sir Andrew Bryan Award by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3).

Mr Lewis, an equity Director of Wardell Armstrong and Regional Director of the London office, received the accolade at at the recent Premier Awards Dinner at the Roof Gardens in Kensington.

About the Sir Andrew Bryan Award

Sir Andrew Bryan was a Scottish mining engineer who was the Chief Inspector of Mines from 1947 to 1951. The medal is awarded for sustained and outstanding contributions to the Institute and its technical activities. This is the 20th time the Medal has been awarded since its inception in 1972.

The IOM3 website cites the reasons for Mr Lewis’s recognition:-

“During his career at Wardell Armstrong, he has been involved in a wide variety of engineering, geological, geotechnical, environmental and mining projects. Jan is Past President of IOM3 and is now Chair of the IOM3 Communications Board.  He first became involved with the Institute as a Councillor of MinSouth (the local IOM3 society) in 1999, and then as a National Councillor in 2002. He regularly conducts CEng, CEnv and professional interviews on behalf of IOM3. Jan is a supporter of institutional activities at national and local levels and keen to encourage young people into engineering and enviromental science.”

About Jan Lewis

A Chartered Engineer, Geologist and Environmentalist with 25 years experience in ground engineering, geological and environmental issues, Jan Lewis is associated with mining projects and the reclamation of former industrial sites.

He is a Fellow of the Institute of Materials Minerals and Mining and is currently the Chairman of their trading arm – IOM3 Communications.

He manages teams providing technical support for mining and natural resource projects include exploration assessment, due diligence, auditing, competent person reporting and feasibility studies.

Mr Lewis has also advised on geotechnical issues associated with civil engineering, tunnelling, mining and waste. He has worked on a wide variety of litigation matters relating to contamination, foundation failures and geotechnical interpretation.

The 2015 IOM3 award winners
The 2015 IOM3 award winners

Main image shows Jan Lewis being presented with his medal by IOM3 President Dr Mike Hicks.

Find Sectors and Services

Use the options below to help you navigate quickly and easily to your desired section of our website.

Find a Team

Use the options below to help you find the team you need.

Find an Individual

Use the options below to help you find the specialist you need.